Cristiano Ronaldo beats Lionel Messi to win Ballon d’Or 2016

Декабрь 13, 2016     Автор: Юлия Клюева
Cristiano Ronaldo beats Lionel Messi to win Ballon d’Or 2016

Cristiano Ronaldo has beaten off competition from Lionel Messi and Antoine Griezmann to win the 2016 Ballon d’Or.

The 31-year-old superstar won the award off the back of a sensational triumph at Euro 2016 after he captained Portugal in their victory over France in the final back in July.

Chelsea encouraging John Terry to retire with promise of new role next season
Ronaldo also had a major part in Real Madrid successfully lifting the Champions League last season.

It means Ronaldo has now won the Ballon d’Or on four occasions, just one behind Barcelona and Argentina legend Messi who remains on five.

He adds to the titles he won in 2008, 2013 and 2014.
The Ballon d’Or is awarded to the player considered the best in Europe and is voted by 173 journalists from around the globe.

Ballon d'Or 2016 rankings
Cristiano Ronaldo
Lionel Messi
Antoine Griezmann
Luis Suarez
Gareth Bale
Riyad Mahrez
Jamie Vardy
Gianluigi Buffon

Ronaldo was also on hand to say a few words after picking up the prestigious award.
‘Great honour to receive my fourth Ballon d’Or,’ said Ronaldo.
‘The emotion is like the first one, it’s the dreaming come true again.

Coutinho tells Liverpool fans he plans to return EARLY for huge Prem clash
‘I never thought in my mind it would be four times to win the golden ball.
‘So I’m so pleased, so happy.

‘I thank all my team-mates. The national team, Real Madrid, all the people, all the players who helped me win this individual award.

‘As you can imagine I am so happy and proud to receive this amazing and beautiful ball, so I am so happy.’

It’s fair to say Ronaldo and Messi have utterly dominated the award for the past eight years…

Last 8 Ballon d'Or wins
2016: Cristiano Ronaldo
2015: Lionel Messi
2014: Cristiano Ronaldo
2013: Cristiano Ronaldo
2012: Lionel Messi
2011: Lionel Messi
2010: Lionel Messi
2009: Lionel Messi
2008: Cristiano Ronaldo