«Pray and support»: Today is the most important day for Andy Murray

Декабрь 15, 2016     Автор: Юлия Клюева
«Pray and support»: Today is the most important day for Andy Murray

There wasn’t much rest for Andy Murray after his best season. Following a No. 1 finish and an ATP Finals title 2.5 weeks ago, Murray was backing working hard for 2017 at his training base in Miami last week.

Andy Murray has capped off his sensational year by being named the Sports Journalists' Association Sportsman of the Year.

The Scot won his second Wimbledon title, took gold at the Olympic Games in Rio and achieved world No 1 status for the first time while also becoming a father. And he earned further plaudits on Thursday when Patrick Collins, the president of the SJA, awarded him the 68th edition of the honour. 

While Murray was not at the Pavilion at the Tower of London to collect his award, he did send over a message of gratitude to the SJA.

He said: 'Thank you very much for the award and sorry I can't be there today. I'm currently in Miami and although it's nice and sunny, I am in a lot of pain right now getting ready for the new season!

'I appreciate all of the support you guys have given me over the years and it means a lot to win an award like this, especially in an Olympic year with so many other deserving athletes. 

'There's plenty for me to work on and improve, I'm looking forward to 2017 and beyond. I hope you all have a nice afternoon and a few glasses of wine. Merry Christmas, Andy.'

Murray pipped both Jason Kenny and Max Whitlock to the award, the third time he has been a winner at the SJA's British Sports Awards.

Winner of the SJA Sportswoman of the Year voted for by SJA members is Britain's most successful female Olympian @LauraKenny31 #SJA2016 pic.twitter.com/g0nSomraup

Kenny, who rode as Laura Trott prior to marrying Jason Kenny, won double Olympic gold in Rio. She finished ahead of Nicola Adams and dressage rider Charlotte Dujardin in the ballot.

Britain's women's hockey team, who won the gold medal in Rio earlier this year, were named by the SJA as the Team of the Year.